Jane's Guide Here's all the help you need to use Jane.

Deleting and Cancelling Memberships

In this guide, we’ll go over the difference between deleting and cancelling a membership as well as how to perform these actions within Jane.

Deleting vs. Cancelling a Membership

So, what is the difference anyway? We’re glad you asked! Here is a breakdown of when and why you would want to delete or cancel a membership.

Deleting a Membership

A clinic typically needs to delete a membership if the membership was invoiced erroneously. We might have sold the wrong membership type, or have sold it to the wrong patient. Your client may have also changed their mind at the last minute and no longer wants to purchase the membership.

A membership can be deleted if the status of all invoiced billing cycles are unpaid.

In these cases, deleting the membership is the best course of action as it will:

  • Remove the membership altogether from the patient’s billing history, as if it was never billed.
  • Remove the membership from any of your clinic’s financial reporting.

Cancelling a Membership

A clinic will cancel a membership when they want to terminate the invoicing schedule and benefits before the contract end date.

A membership can be cancelled if at least one billing cycle has a payment applied towards it.

Cancelling a membership will:

  • Preserve the membership in a patient’s billing history, but flag it as cancelled.
  • If cancelled prior to the final billing cycle, no further billing cycles will be generated.
  • If the membership has been set to automatic payments, the card on file will no longer be charged.
  • The patient can no longer access the discounts provided by this membership.
  • Record of membership activity, up until the point of cancellation, will appear in your clinic’s financial reporting.

When setting up a membership, you will be able to specify a Cancellable After date. This date will show up on the membership terms document that you may provide your patient after purchase.

Note: At this time, cancelling a membership is an administrative-only function. Patients will not be able to cancel memberships via the patient portal and will be required to contact the clinic to finalize the cancellation. This is a feature we would like to implement as we continue to improve on Memberships.


Alright, now that we’ve covered the key differences between cancelling and deleting a membership, let’s learn how to do each!

Deleting a Membership

To delete a membership, hop over to Billing > Packages & Memberships section of a client’s profile. From here, click View to bring up the detail page.

The option to Delete a Membership will be available at the top of this detail page if the status of all invoiced billing cycles are unpaid.

After clicking Delete Membership, you will be asked to confirm whether you would like to proceed. Press Confirm to finalize the deletion, or Cancel to return back to the previous page.

Once deleted, the membership should no longer appear in the Package & Membership list for that patient.


Cancelling a Membership

Cancelling a membership also begins over in the Billing > Packages & Memberships section of a client’s profile. From here, click View to bring up the detail page.

The option to Cancel a Membership will be available at the top of this detail page if there is at least one billing cycle that has a payment applied.

If you click on Cancel Membership, you will be asked to confirm that you would like to proceed.

Note: An alert will appear at the top of this pop-up if you attempt to cancel a membership outside of its cancellation policy. This is just a heads up and will not prevent staff members from finalizing the cancellation if required.

And that’s it! You’ll notice that, unlike deleted memberships, cancelled memberships will still appear in the patient’s packages & memberships area and your clinic reporting.


FAQs

Can a patient cancel their membership themselves?

At this time, a patient is unable to cancel their membership themselves via the patient portal. A clinic staff member will be able to cancel the membership administratively on their behalf.

I want to delete a membership, but I only see the option to cancel.

Jane will show the option to delete a membership if all of the invoiced billing cycles are unpaid. If deleting is the preferred action (over cancelling), you’ll want to unapply any payments that have been applied towards the active billing cycles.

I want to cancel a membership, but it’s only showing me the option to delete.

Jane will show the option to delete a membership if all of the invoiced billing cycles are unpaid. Apply at least one payment to an existing billing cycle invoice in order to cancel the membership.

I made a mistake and deleted/cancelled a membership by accident, can I undo this?

It is not possible to reverse a membership cancellation or deletion at this time. We recommend selling another instance of the same membership to your client.